Fare Thee Well Heathcliff

When I was a young lad of tender age, I had a pet guinea pig named Heathcliff.  He was shiny and black and made the most terrible noise when he would get excited.  Because I loved him so, I wanted him to experience the world outside his glass pen that I kept in my room — the pen that filled my room with the dirty musky smell of a guinea pig.  I took him from his little prison, cradled him in my arms and then walked out into the bright sunlight of a clear Ohio day.  Heathcliff was stark black against the green grass.  I watched with joy as he nibbled bits of the lush vegetation with much eagerness.  I soon grew tired of it and went inside.  That evening, my mom said that Heathcliff went away.  I was sad.  Years later I found out that when she said “went away”, she meant that the neighbor’s dog had eaten him.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fare Thee Well Heathcliff

  1. You know, I really enjoy that this post had the tags of “musky” and “odor”. These words are not used near enough in our everyday conversations. Consider yourself warned, you musky, odorous fellow.

Leave a Reply

